GMA Dove Awards 2020 Full List of Winners


Winners of the 51st Annual GMA Dove Award were announced during a special Facebook stream of the Pre-Telecast Awards Presentation, which aired October 29th. Under the banner of “Carry The Change”, the show celebrated Gospel Music’s diversity and promoted unity through dynamic performances and testimonials.

Australian brother duo, For King & Country won Artist of the Year, making history as the first duo ever to win in that top category. Other winners in major categories include We The Kingdom for “New Artist of the Year”, Tasha Cobbs Leonard for “Gospel Artist of the Year” (presented by SoundExchange), and Joseph Habedank for “Southern Gospel Artist of the Year”.

Renowned Nigerian worship leader, Sinach won the song of the year for “Way Maker”. Recorded in 2015, the global anthem has been covered by notable worship leaders including Bethel Music, Maranda Curtis, Leeland, and Michael W. Smith whose version held the No. 1 spot on Billboard’s Christian Airplay Chart for three weeks.

Hip Hop icon Kanye West won rap/hip hop recorded song of the year for “Follow God,” while the likes of Zach Williams won songwriter of the year (artist) for the first time not forgetting Jason Ingram who won the songwriter of the year (non-artist) for the second year in a row and the third time in five year.

numerous one-of-a-kind collaborations including a historic performance by “Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year” winner Tauren Wells featuring Christine D’Clario, Jenn Johnson and Jekalyn Carr.

See the complete list of winners below:

Artist of the year:

Song of the year:
“Way Maker”
Writer: Osinachi Kalu Okoro Egbu; Publisher: Integrity Music Europe

Songwriter of the year – artist:
Zach Williams

Songwriter of the year – non artist:
Jason Ingram

Producer of the year:
Ed Cash & Steven V. Taylor (Team)

New artist of the year:
We The Kingdom

Contemporary Christian artist of the year:
Tauren Wells

Gospel artist of the year:
Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Southern gospel artist of the year:
Joseph Habedank

Inspirational film of the year:
I Still Believe
Directors: Andrew Erwin, Jon Erwin, (Producers) Kevin Downes, Andrew Erwin, Jon Erwin

Long form video of the year:
Awake (Live), Hillsong Worship
Directors: Richard Cause, Jared Chapman, Paul Martin, Samuel Irving, Steven Lester; Producers: Johnny Rays, Jessica Ico, Steven Lester

Short form video of the year:
“God Only Knows,” for KING & COUNTRY featuring Dolly Parton
Directors/producers: Ben Smallbone, Patrick Tohill

Bluegrass/country/roots album of the year:
God & Country, Jimmy Fortune
Producer: Ben Isaacs

Bluegrass/country/roots recorded song of the year:
“Ain’t No Grave,” Karen Peck & New River
Writers: Jonathan David Helser, Melissa Helser, Molly Skaggs

Children’s album of the year:
Sing: Remembering Songs, Ellie Holcomb
Producers: Nate Dugger, Brown Bannister

Choral collection of the year:
Top Anthem Collection
Creator: Johnathan Crumpton; Arrangers: Bradley Knight, Cliff Duren, Mike Speck, Marty Parks, Daniel Semsen, Gary Rhodes, Dave Williamson, Geron Davis, Tom Fettke, Russell Mauldin

Christmas/special event album of the year:
Christmas, Phil Wickham
Producer: Jonathan Smith

Contemporary gospel album of the year:
LONG LIVE LOVE, Kirk Franklin
Producers: Kirk Franklin, Shaun Martin, Maxwell Stark, Ronald Hill, S1 for SKP. Inc.

Contemporary gospel recorded song of the year:
“People,” Jonathan McReynolds
Writer: Jonathan McReynolds

Gospel worship album of the year:
Broken Record, Travis Greene
Producers: Travis Greene, Brunes Charles

Gospel worship recorded song of the year:
“Something Has to Break (Live),” Kierra Sheard, featuring Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Writers: J. Drew Sheard, Kierra Valencia Sheard, Mia Fieldes, Jonathan Smith


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *